2019 · REVIEW

Review: Perfectly Preventable Deaths

Author: Deirdre Sullivan
Date Started: 13-08-2019
Date Finished:14-08-2019
Pages: 352
Star Rating: ✪✪✪✪

51idcv5aupl

Synopsis from Goodreads

Everyone in Ballyfran has a secret, and that is what binds them together…

Fifteen-year-old twins Madeline and Catlin move to a new life in Ballyfran, a strange isolated town, a place where, for the last sixty years, teenage girls have gone missing in the surrounding mountains.

As distance grows between the twins – as Catlin falls in love, and Madeline begins to understand her own nascent witchcraft – Madeline discovers that Ballyfrann is a place full of predators. Not only foxes, owls and crows, but also supernatural beings who for many generations have congregated here to escape persecution. When Catlin falls into the gravest danger of all, Madeline must ask herself who she really is, and who she wants to be – or rather, who she might have to become to save her sister.

Dark and otherworldly, this is an enthralling story about the bond between sisters and the sacrifices we make for those we care about the most. For fans of Frances Hardinge and Laure Eve.

My Statistics

My Thoughts

At first I wasn’t too sure about this book and originally gave it 3.5 stars but after thinking on this I have upped it rating to 4 stars. I did like the fairy tale stories I read by Deirdre Sullivan, Tangleweed and Brine this month, but something at the beginning of this book was making it difficult for me. Sullivan does use a lot of extremely short sentences which made the story a little disjointed for me. Once the plot picked up, this did not bother me at all and I flew through the rest of the book.

This story does push a few YA boundaries and is extremely dark, but it is done very well and sensitively.

Sullivan captured the aspect of living with anxiety extremely well, especially when you are living with relatives who do not understand why you do the things you do.

This book has LGBTQ+ representation as one of the main characters struggles with learning who she really is.

I would recommend Deirdre Sullivan and will definitely pick up her next book.

-Happy Reading
xoxo

5 thoughts on “Review: Perfectly Preventable Deaths

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s